What CAN I find in CANADA?

Author: Rakimul Haq (Class XI)

I still remember the day I stepped outside Asian soil for the first time. Fresh in my memory as if it was yesterday, or a cookie fresh out of the oven for that matter.

I’d heard so much about the country yet never thought that I would actually get to visit it at such a young age.

They say first impressions are very important. Thus, most other countries I had been to try to keep a flamboyant airport. However, this one was nothing out of the ordinary. So much so, that I was beginning to think, “Am I in the right country?” All my doubts evaporated the moment I stepped outside. As the cold breeze flew past me, with a reassuring confidence it said “Yes. This is indeed Canada.”

Canada is very well known for its astonishingly cold climate. The temperature drops drastically by the end of fall. It is quite an irony, that one of the coldest countries across the globe could produce such warm-hearted people

Seldom do they complain about the frequent snowstorms and blizzards and have learnt to accept this as a part of their everyday life. Going there from South Asia could really take some getting used to.

The fact that almost a million immigrants from the Indian subcontinent are settled in Canada failed to fathom me as I was already aware of the high standards of education there. Thousands of students fly there every year in the hope of completing higher education.

Graduates from the top-class universities are found worldwide, already established, and contributing to their country’s economy.

I later came to know that the reason behind this is that their main goal is to make the students job efficient.

However, I was not thinking about all this back when I first arrived there, at around the age of 10. The only thought in my mind was, “Where is this ‘wonder land’ that I’ve heard so much of. Is it actually the second best in the world?”

The best experience for me in Canada was visiting the Niagara falls. The largest waterfall on this terrestrial ball we call Earth, it was like God created it to hold USA and Canada in both hands. Keep them together, yet separate.

That was the first of many visits. Going to Canada taught me something, that there is so much this world has to offer. Starting from natural beauty to various cultures of different people, there is much more to discover. Since then, travelling became more than just a hobby.

Leave a Reply

